Book and Movie – Philomena

Philomena: A Mother, Her Son & a Fifty Year Search

Paperback – Oct 10 2013
by Martin Sixsmith (Author)

Details:  http://www.amazon.ca/Philomena-Mother-Fifty-Year-Search/dp/1447245229/

Book cover Philomena

Philomena: A Mother, Her Son & a Fifty Year Search

I bought the paperback at a used book shop for $7.99 during the summer of 2014.   I didn’t start reading it because a friend and I were going to see the movie at the Bytowne Cinema soon.

We saw the movie. My friend cried. I cried.

This was when shit got real. All kinds of thoughts and scenarios went through my mind. What if Matthew had died? What if someone at the Adoption Registry screwed up (apologies) and our files had not connected?

What if? What if? 

I have to say that the place I stayed at during my pregnancy was NOTHING like what poor Philomena experienced. Rosalie Hall was run by the Misericordia Nuns in Toronto. They were mostly French-Canadian women and I remember them as being firm but kind to the residents.

Catholic girls were expected to attend Sunday mass when a local priest would visit. The chapel was stocked with dozens of books on prayer and inspiration. I read a lot of them during my stay. They got me through some tough, lonely days.

I still cannot read this particular book.

T

 

About shewrite63

I am Theresa. I am a Mother, Grandmother and intermittent writer. I published a bittersweet novel in 2011 under the pen name of Florence T Lyon. I am also a real life survivor, community volunteer, Archives and Records Management graduate, and long-time IT support worker trying to keep up with technological changes. Can't eke a living off of my writing skills - yet!
This entry was posted in Adoption, search, Teen pregnancy and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Book and Movie – Philomena

  1. Not read the book unfortunately, but the film was really great. Stuck with me.

    Like

  2. Judith Land says:

    Viewers who enjoyed Philomena should also watch the 2002 award winning movie “The Magdalene Sisters” by Peter Mullan about four teenage girls send to Magdalene Asylums for women whose families and society labelled as ‘fallen’. The film was initially made because victims of Magdalene Asylums had received no closure in the form of recognition, compensation or apology. The film’s epilogue states that an estimated 30,000 women were held at Magdalene Asylums throughout Ireland, with the last laundry closing in 1996.

    Like

  3. Pingback: Pee bottle coordinator | Finding Matthew

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.